Reviews For Apocrypha
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Alex Dansen Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 01/06/10 - 12:04 pm Title: Appendices

Not usually a fan of James/Snape, but I really enjoyed this :D

 

Reviewer: wasabi_31 Anonymous star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 22/07/06 - 12:37 pm Title: Appendices

Well,this is the first James/Severus no-pwp-story I have ever read by now. It meets everything that I have ever thought about these two. Thank u for writting them out that I can stop those dizzy ideas hauling around my mind.

Reviewer: MetaCapricorn Signed star star star star [Report This]
Date: 31/05/06 - 06:20 pm Title: Appendices

Your stories leave me shivering, because even if they have an ending, this ending is no real ending, I can't imagine that suddenly Severus Snape has drawn a line under the name James Potter, as we see in the following books, so this ending is so strange, cut off, I think. But the emotions, of course, are very well described. Great! Yours, Meta

Reviewer: AngelTalion Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 24/11/05 - 03:55 am Title: Appendices

*GASP!* OH! The idea that the one Sev really felt for was JAMES! Man I never even thought of it that way! That its so bloody plausable... that this is why Severus hate's Harry... *shakes head* I'm in total AWE! You are amazing! What a wonderful story and what a wonderful origenal idea!

Reviewer: ilubeiriyuki Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 14/08/05 - 09:34 pm Title: Appendices

KYAA!! I love this fic! It's so .. very beautiful. [Lesson learned: Life comes full circle. XD ] *sigh* I love the narration; the beautiful flow of the story, and most of all, the way you write the characters. ^^ Thanks for writing. ^^ Write more!!

Reviewer: ilubeiriyuki Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 14/08/05 - 09:26 pm Title: Verse VII

-sigh- This .. made me tear. -sob- So .. beautiful. I envy your talent.

Reviewer: ilubeiriyuki Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 14/08/05 - 09:26 pm Title: Verse VI

o.O;; Pure smut - wonderful.

Reviewer: ilubeiriyuki Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 14/08/05 - 09:25 pm Title: Verse V

WHOOT! <3 the fic even more.

Reviewer: ilubeiriyuki Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 14/08/05 - 09:24 pm Title: Verse V

Aw .. wonderful. <3 {the story} even more. ^^

Reviewer: ilubeiriyuki Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 14/08/05 - 09:23 pm Title: Verse IV

O.O::: WOW. Wonderful. <3 {the story} even more. ^^

Reviewer: ilubeiriyuki Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 14/08/05 - 09:23 pm Title: Verse III

Wonderful. <3 {the story} even more. ^^

Reviewer: ilubeiriyuki Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 14/08/05 - 09:23 pm Title: Verse II

Wonderful. <3 {the story} again.

Reviewer: ilubeiriyuki Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 14/08/05 - 09:22 pm Title: Verse I

Wonderful. <3 {the story}

Reviewer: Subversa Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 18/05/05 - 04:53 am Title: Appendices

This story filled me with conflicting emotions. The fire burned hot between James and Severus, obscuring that line between love and hate; you write with a skilled hand. The characterizations seemed spot on. Ten.

Reviewer: Snegurochka Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 14/05/05 - 05:04 pm Title: Appendices

Oh, brava, darling, this is truly an achievement. I do hope you are very proud of this, because it is clear that you put a lot of work into it. You have a knack for imagery, and finding just the right words to convey a million things quickly. I also love the structure of the fic, right from the beginning, with the alternating perspectives, the 'verses', and this double epilogue.

Do I sense a fleeting thought in James that death is his punishment for his sin with Snape? (Sin as in adultery/cheating, I mean, not as in homosexuality). It sort of seems that way. And Snape's reaction to seeing Harry is just marvellous. I've seen a few Snape/Lily unrequited fics, but I could never get into them and now I think I know why. Snape/James works so much better, especially for explaining Snape's antagonism towards Harry. Just as you've described, Harry is James, and how could a former lover like Snape fail to feel socked in the gut upon seeing the kid for the first time? It's all just so sad, and lovely, and heart-wrenching, and you have captured a million emotions besides those. Really an excellent fic, all around. I'll stop gushing now. But I would like to rec it on my fic site, if that's cool. *is going to anyway* ;-) ~Lee

Reviewer: Snegurochka Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 14/05/05 - 04:56 pm Title: Verse VII

Wow, such wonderful imagery here, of the pub, the room, the sheets, everything. I love that they don't look at each other until they are upstairs (and maybe not even then?) I love Snape's perspective. It's so different from James's in the last chapter, but also... it's not. Hard to explain, but you've definitely given them completely different, and very in-character, personalities. And I am such a sucker for pre-Godric's Hollow fics - I like your theories about Pettigrew. And a bit of unrequited Potter/Black! Lovely. (Of course, you hinted at that earlier in the fic as well). Nice job. The last line is terrifying, and perfect. ~Lee

Reviewer: Snegurochka Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 14/05/05 - 04:47 pm Title: Verse VI

God, this is beautiful. I went ahead and read the rest at Skyhawke as you suggested (thanks!), but I have to come back here to review. This is the best chapter so far, even though they have all been very powerful. The hate!sex is so raw, and fierce, and crazy but necessary - truly, all of James's conflict comes across so very well. You have also captured man!sex very nicely indeed, if I may say so. Too much slash is so sweet and romantic and sappy, but this - this is rough, hard, man!sex at its finest. My favourite passage:

It could never be Lily under him like this. Snape’s thin but strong; smooth, hard muscles shifting under skin, planes and angles and the sharp jut of hipbones. Lily is soft and round and sweet, he could never fuck her like this, harsh and rough, could never throw her around like his, fingers biting until flesh blooms purple, teeth at the base of her neck until blood wells under his tongue.

Really brings to life the difference between Snape and Lily in James's desires, and makes both of them so plausible. I still love how you end each of their encounters, with no emotion displayed, and a simple walking away. For a pairing like this, it's exactly what's required. Brava. :) ~Lee

Reviewer: sadlittlesnapefan Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 14/05/05 - 04:11 pm Title: Appendices

I'm just a little speechless. I was quite skeptical about the premise, but you won me over with the progression of each Verse. The ending is quite powerful. Well done!

Reviewer: Snegurochka Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 12/05/05 - 05:53 am Title: Verse V

"You are aware Evans doesn't have a cock." Is one of the better lines ever written, you know. :) This is so flipping heartbreaking! Please say they aren't finished yet, just because of Lily. They've barely gotten started. So much more they could do... *devilish grin* Yep, I knew it, you've made me believe this pairing. Very hot sex, and so in character, the way they protest, then don't speak, and never say anything afterwards. Gorgeous. And if I haven't mentioned it yet, I really like how you are shifting perspective between James and Snape each chapter. It works very well. Now, more please? :) ~Lee

Author's Response: Wow. Thank you so, so much. I just woke up, and I have to say, this is a wonderful way to start the morning. And this fic, especially, because it means a lot to me. It was a challenge piece, and I'd started it with the intent of writing a short PWP, but it ran long, and detailed, which was kind of nerve-wracking, because they are a rarepair. Thank you, so so much. :D Also, this story is actually complete. I haven't finished uploading here, the last three chapters are up on my skyehawke account. http://archive.skyehawke.com/story.php?no=6401 Thanks again!

Reviewer: Snegurochka Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 12/05/05 - 05:44 am Title: Verse IV

Beautiful. I am such a sucker for any fic that tries to explain the Prank, and especially one that offers an explanation as plausible and well-detailed as yours. As a particular Lupin whore, I also have to applaud your Lupin, especially his quietly flirty amber eyes that could undo anyone, James included. Mmm! And irrational!jealous!Sirius is just so well-drawn. I also like the idea that the Marauders didn't necessarily go everywhere together all the time - ie: Sirius is in the Shack with Remus, but James and Peter were somewhere else. Adds more dimension to the characters. Jeez, sorry, one of these days I'll stop gushing so much, but for now I just can't. I'm hooked on this. Excellent work. ~Lee

Reviewer: Snegurochka Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 12/05/05 - 05:30 am Title: Verse III

OMFG. How did you make that work? How? How? That worked, just perfectly, and was so bloody HOT. I love the details early in the chapter, too, with James's invisibility cloak and Marauders Map. Very nice canon shout-outs. You have such a nice way with language and characterisations. When Snape realised that James's friends would charm themselves red to support him, whereas the Slytherins would laugh at Snape the loudest, I almost teared up. I am officially hooked. *heads eagerly to chapter 4* ~Lee

Reviewer: Snegurochka Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 12/05/05 - 05:18 am Title: Verse II

Waaaah! Now I'm going to be late for work, because I can't. Stop. Reading this! *shakes fist at you* Can you please send a letter to everyone else who has ever tried to write a classroom scene, and tell them that this is how it should be done? Thank you. The details are wonderful, and again I love your characterisations. I especially love that James and Sirius aren't the same person, as they are in so many fics (my own included). You've made sure that each Marauder has a distinct personality, and that even if James's and Sirius's sort of go together on some things, they aren't the same.

And if all of that wasn't enough, you've got Sirius/Remus. Oh, how I love you! I've tried denying it, I really have, but I just can't. Those two are my first love OTP, and this is so nice and subtle and James's pseudo-jealousy is so perfect, and- OK, I could go on forever. The parchment in the ear was a LOL, by the way. *check watch* Oh fuck it, I have to read chapter 3 now... ~Lee

Reviewer: Snegurochka Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 12/05/05 - 05:03 am Title: Verse I

Hey! Someone just recommended this to me on LJ, and I had it bookmarked but hadn't had a chance to read yet, and now here it is at SycHex. Woo! I knew I'd be hooked as soon as I started reading, which is why I'd been putting it off. ;-) And sure enough. I love Marauders fics, but most of them are so badly done, or flippantly done, or miss the small details of interaction between the four of them, that this is a remarkable breath of fresh air. The characterisations are wonderful, and you haven't left anyone out - not even Pettigrew, who always gets left out in other fics. I'm dying to see what happens between Snape and James. I suspect it will be a pairing that no one but you will be able to pull off (as the person who rec'ed it to me said). One thing - I thought somewhere else it was rated NC-17? Are you rating the chapters as you go? ~Lee

You must login (register) to review.