Reviews For Humbug
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Ashquil Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 28/04/09 - 06:26 am Title: Visitations

This was one of the best Harry/Snape stories I've ever read. And as a personal lover of this ship, I've definitely read more than a few. It's not often, either, that an author manages to remake a classic in such a way, and still have it remain a magnificent story to read. I'm ever so happy to have stumbled across it now.

I think, the best part would have been the scene with Harry in the future at Snape's grave, and what he decides to do. The fact that Harry still loves him so much after so many years, and that he'd die for him despite Snape's actions is undeniably heart-wrenching. Yes, I cried. I think that's only happened twice in my years of reading fanfiction. Very well done, i'm immensely impressed.

Reviewer: Emmiebyrd Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 03/08/06 - 07:10 am Title: A Second Chance

I decided to give this a try. I'm not really a slasher, but I really liked "Shifting" and was pleased that this was a kind of sequel. The way you took the characters and fit them with Dicken's story was brilliant. The Lupin-Tiny Tim thing was so original. It was really great. I'd like to see you write something that could post on other sites, I think you're really talented.

Author's Response: Thanks, Emmiebyrd, I'm glad you liked it. I do actually have some het stuff at a Harry/Ginny site called 'PhoenixSong'(under the same name), though, I have to say, my writing has improved a lot since I wrote them. I think anyway.

Reviewer: shanfawn16 Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 27/02/06 - 08:54 pm Title: A Second Chance

Once again, I'm blown away. This was excellent! I couldn't stop reading! I've always loved "A Christmas Carol", but who knew it could be so aptly applied to the HP universe!!! Loved it!!!

Reviewer: Dissen Signed star star star star half star [Report This]
Date: 05/02/06 - 12:33 pm Title: Visitations

Wow, I was waiting for this story to be some tawdry takeoff of the original, but you managed it wonderfully. You also somehow took an amazingly marysue-ish way of getting Harry and Snape together and made it believable. I'm thinking that alone gets major kudos! Perhaps this seems like I'm just rattling of praises, but to continue the list, characterization--or rather, following canon: That was *very* well done. I can't compare this story with others on this particular site since I'm not yet familiar enough with it, but compared to most fanfics I have read this is exceptional in keeping characters, well, in character. All in all, amazing story; I loved it!

Author's Response: Thank you, Dissen. What a very nice thing to find in my mailbox this morning. I'm glad you took a chance on it even though you clearly had some doubt going into it. This story is the one that I am most proud of, so it's really wonderful when other people appreciate it, and then tell me about it.

Reviewer: Animejen Signed star star star half star [Report This]
Date: 10/01/06 - 05:28 pm Title: A Second Chance

This was a cute story. You had a good handle on the characters. I especially like the description of Hagrid as the spirit of christmas present.

Reviewer: sjc_swank Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 05/01/06 - 05:26 am Title: A Second Chance

hehehe! I have seen this idea played out so many times, but I had to comment to tell you that this is the best I've seen. I like to give my favorite line when reviewing, but there are too many to pick from this time, so I'll just say that I loved it all! The end was especially nice. I liked the mention of Remus... has plot bunnies running wild in my head! Very very nice love!

Reviewer: Orin Leland Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 04/01/06 - 11:13 pm Title: A Second Chance

As much as I was thinking to myself, 'oh no, not another christmas carol ripoff' but for some reason i read it anyways. I give you an 'E' for exceeds expectations. If it continued on maybe an 'O', but great work!

Reviewer: VeeBee Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 04/01/06 - 07:01 pm Title: A Second Chance

Aww, that was so beautiful!! I love that ending, though Severus becomes really emotional - which is a little hard to get used to - you did lay the foundation for that in the previous chapters. So even that was good and worked. Keep thinking up stories and writing them for others to revel in!!

Author's Response: Thanks for sticking with the story VeeBee. I'm glad that you enjoyed it so much. About Severus and emotion--he is, above all else, human. He experiences the range of emotions, but has tight control over what he allows others to see or know of it. This experience just loosened that control a little, because the more important issue was, of course, Harry. Thanks!

Reviewer: StormySkize Signed star star star half star [Report This]
Date: 04/01/06 - 06:57 pm Title: A Second Chance

I can't believe no one has reviewed this! I am not normally a fan of slash. I am actually a Hermione/Snape shipper, but I was curious about the "A Christmas Carol" elements of this story so I decided to read it. I'm still not a slash fan, but you so beautifully depicted the love between two people that their gender became unimportant. I truly enjoyed the emotions this story evoked. Thank you for sharing.

Author's Response: That is about the nicest thing anyone has ever said to me. Thank you for that, and thank you for giving my story a try. It is too bad that I couldn't lure you to the slash side; I'll just have to try harder next time!

Reviewer: VeeBee Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 03/01/06 - 07:13 am Title: Christmas Future

Oh my God! This is extremely touching! And so sad =( But i am positive that there is a happy ending just around the corner? Please? *swallows around the lump in her throat*

Reviewer: VeeBee Anonymous star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 02/01/06 - 06:50 pm Title: Christmas Present

It keeps getting better and better!! I hope the next chapter is going to be up soon. I have to admit that i have never read Charles Dickens' Christmas Carol but I agree that Hagrid as an apparition fits in a huge sort of way ;-)

Reviewer: olivialynlee Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 31/12/05 - 01:14 pm Title: Christmas Present

Wow! Excellent chapter. Hagrid fit the bill perfectly as the ghost of Christmas present and your descriptions were brilliant. Poor Remus! His injuries sound extremely painful, and I am so glad that he ripped up the portrait of Mrs. Black. Serves her right. It must have been overwhelming for Severus to hear Harry talk about how he loved him. It was also very touching. I am anxiously awaiting the next installment to find out what happens. Great job!

Reviewer: Cubic Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 30/12/05 - 12:26 pm Title: Christmas Past

I hope you update soon! I usually turn my nose up at Snarry fices, but I am enjoying this greatly!

Author's Response: Wow! I'm glad you took a chance on my Snarry, and I hope you enjoy the rest of the story just a much, or more. Thanks for reading, and for taking the time to review.

Reviewer: olivialynlee Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 30/12/05 - 11:47 am Title: Visitations

This is a great story! I love the way you describe everything. This is so well written! My heart was breaking for Severus, first with Regulus and then with Harry. I am looking forward to the next installment.

Reviewer: VeeBee Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 29/12/05 - 06:35 pm Title: Christmas Past

*happy squeeeaaal* this is sooo entertaining! You did it - i really pitied poor grumpy Severus in the end... ;-) Please, keep going, i truly love your story!!

Reviewer: VeeBee Signed star star star star star [Report This]
Date: 29/12/05 - 06:29 pm Title: Visitations

The idea of a "converted" Severus merrily carrying a grown-up Ginny Weasley on his shoulder is hilarious! I love this story!!

Author's Response: Thank you! I thought it was funny, I'm glad you did too. Hopefully, the rest will be up soon. The story is finished, it's just posting a chapter at a time. Thanks for reading!

You must login (register) to review.